Deliver us from evil

Oh Father, you are the source of all strength. Now, that I am on a new chapter of my life, I’m sure you’ll provide me with bountiful blessing.  But, being blessed by God carries one of the greatest perils as it tends to dull our keen sense of dependence on God and make us prone to presumption. So, please help me when I get lost, especially when my human wants foreshadows your big plans for me.

Dear Lord, please keep evil and temptation far away from me.

Please keep me away from evil because for every success and blessing you bless me with, I know that temptations from evil will also come. I confess that what I think is necessary, smart, or beneficial is so often only the beautiful wrapping on sin. Please protect me from deception and keep me from making the mistake I’m most prone to when temptation comes.

Please spare me from dangerous misjudgment and keep me safe from the pain and grief that sin brings. For the dangers I can’t see or the ones I think I can risk because of my experience, pride and carelessness, put up a spiritual barrier please. Protect me by your power.

Please keep me from the powerful pull of what feels right to us but is wrong. Keep me safe from temptations that pull at my emotions and physical needs that call out to my sense of what I deserve, what I have the “right” to feel and enjoy. Because You are the source of all that is really life, direct my steps away from all that is not of You.

tumblr_mi3gcvdFZU1r17noqo1_500

Leave a Reply

